top of page

Let’s talk about 1 of the 5 senses – Scent.


How important is scent to our lives?

Fact: Scent works in the opposite direction of other senses. "With sight, sound and taste, we identify the information first and then react emotionally. With scents, we have an emotional reaction first and then identify the scent shortly thereafter.” (courtesy Cintas Corp. - 10 Fun Facts about Sense of Smell)

I recently walked into our house from the back deck and the scent that greeted me was of my mother’s house. It was so intense that I was afraid to move for fear of it dissipating into the air.

That's fascinating to me, it’s been over 2 years since my mother died and as long since I was in her house!

The emotional feelings it brought me were overwhelming, I was instantly in their power.

Think about it, scent plays a pivotal role in our lives. It’s pivotal because of our emotional reaction.

For instance: With the scent of petunias, I close my eyes and I’m sitting on my grandmothers front porch swing with her window boxes of petunias surrounding me. Suddenly I’m 8 years old and I feel safe again.

The smell of apples and cinnamon transports me back into my mother’s kitchen in 1974 where she showed me how to make an apple pie.

This is as close to magic that I know.

Think of this phenomenon the next time you walk into YOUR house. What do you smell? Does it bring you thoughts of love and family?

It should.

If you were given the chance, what would you like your children to remember about the scent of their childhood home? Do you want it to be something pleasant? Will it be something pleasant?

By now I'm sure you understand the direction this is going!

A clean house is not just a happy house; when it comes to the scent of your home it’s a ‘memory builder’. And you choose what scents are going to build your family’s memories. Clean, fresh and poignant should be what you strive towards – for you and your children.

With a little bit of work and thought you can have the house you most want to come home to. The house your children will remember forever. Memories can last a lifetime – make them good ones.



Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
bottom of page