top of page

Eclectic Mix !

I feel like being eclectic with the blog today... So I’m listing ‘fun’ things that I’ve found and feel are worth sharing…

The 1st picture is from a magazine that shows an interesting way of using ‘lanterns’ as picture holders. I love that you can use the lantern as is or…. paint it to match your home color scheme. Illuminating with a flameless candle puts this project into the ‘great ideas’ category for me.

The 2nd picture shows a project that would work for anyone with an artistic flare. I found this in the ‘Do it Yourself Magazine’ Fall 2015. Just go to the website, upload your photo (pay!) and you’ll receive a kit with everything you need to ‘paint’ your photo. Prices are reasonable so check out some of the gallery photos of finished paintings!

I’ll be trying this out on an upcoming project I’m thinking of doing for someone. I’ll share the results with you!

 

Next... A website that will repair your jeans by perfectly matching any shade of indigo (or any other color) is Denimtherapy.com. They won’t mend velvet or coated jeans. The prices seem reasonable compared to local prices in my area. You will have to pay a shipping charge with this company. You ship, they email you an estimate for your approval then repair your jeans and ship back to you.

I don’t know about you but I do have one pair of jeans (older than I want to admit!) that I’ll eventually send off to have repaired.

 

The below pictures show how I store winter blankets…

I lay out my blanket onto a flat surface (our bed).

I then fold it three times over (depending on the size of the blanket i.e. single, double or king).

I do an initial fold on one end then start rolling the blanket towards the other end. It’s similar to rolling up a sleeping bag.

Then I attach masking tape (I use the cheaper kind since I don’t want too much adhesive)

Once the masking tape is attached (see picture) I roll the tape around the blanket and finish it by bringing the tape over itself on the other side.

Doing it this way saves me space, keeps things neat and allows the option to stand the blankets upright depending on where they are stored.

*I don’t recommend using this on silk or any fragile material since it could potentially damage it.

Hope you’ve enjoyed at least one of these projects or ideas!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
bottom of page